Forest City Design Co.

Unique Branding Since 2011

Creative Market Spotlight: Latinotype

In my quest to find a regular job, I have realized that there is no such thing. At least in this particular zip code, so my days are filled with alternative ways of generating an income. Outside of blogging to hear myself ramble, my secondary reason in doing so is to show potential clients my talent for freelancing gigs. I design t-shirts, because I think it’s fun. I like the process, perhaps a little too much, but just the simple act of creating something is enough to keep me going to the next project, then the next one, and so on.

…some guys fish. This is what I do to relax…

For my next endeavor, I’m going to let another personality loose and try my hand at vlogging. I’m fairly sure that it will have anything to do with making t-shirts or designing things, but since I can’t seem to nail down a topic, I’m not going to rule it out completely.

In any case, as any YouTuber will tell you, one of the most important things you will need in order to establish your channel is a logo or an avatar. Since YouTube is all about the visuals, the more recognizable your logo, the more memorable your channel will be; basically, brand recognition.

I’ve had my channel for years, but haven’t done anything productive with it. Mostly for personal reasons, but partially was because of the YouTube handle I’ve chosen: “2Cents”. It was something quick. I didn’t have time to waist on thinking of an ultra-cool name, so I went with the only nickname I was given that ever stuck. The only problem was “2Cents” sounds like it was clever about 20 years ago, and therefore it sounds like a channel that was created by an old dude.

Which is it is…essentially.

So, in order to not sound like an old dude, I needed something fresh and recognizable. Something clean. What I came up with was this:

2CentsLogo

Good start; simple, clean, memorable. But it needed a little…oomph, so another spin through the Photoshop Machine, and I came up with this:

2Centsavatar

Much better…

I chose this technique, because it seems for the past few months, a new style has been taking hold. It’s a style derived from a stamping effect, or chalkboard style. It’s been popping up in more and more commercials these days, you’ll know it when you see it.

At least, I think the technique is new if the availability of tutorials are any indication. Regardless, I found out how to do it. It’s fairly simple, but I still need to familiarize myself with its nuance to be comfortable.

Which brings me to an artist who has already mastered the method. May I present, Latinotype.

latinotype1

The name of the font is called “Trend Rough”. It’s a Slab font, and it has a very big, and very pretty family. A benchmark I use for my opinion is to use it for my company name:

Trend Rough

I love this. I tend to have a very big soft spot when it comes to handcrafted and roughened up type. It feels like home. My home, your home, somebody’s home. There will always be a hand-painted sign in which a great deal of care went into making. That the paint is peeling and cracking is a testimony to an idea standing the test of time, and that speaks to me in a profound way. Although I try and be as diverse in style as possible, I will always find myself drifting back to this style and will primarily use it in everything. From the artists description…

It is the result of observation, search and study of the last global trends. Trend tries to capture the aesthetics of fashion or even fashion itself, integrating elements of a very popular and current trend. It is a typeface designed to be used without need to add anything external to it, because it has all components required for this.

Trend is trending.

I honestly hope so.

If you’re interested in using this in your next project, follow the link below where you’ll find this and other unique and beautiful fonts.

Happy creating!

https://creativemarket.com/Latinotype/140486-Trend-Rough-Family-88-Off?u=fcdesignco

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 02/13/2015 by in Creative Market, Designer Spotlight and tagged , , , , .
